Upcoming 10k

   We now have only 8 days until our very first 10k! I’m very nervous because I have actually never ran more than 5 miles which I did just last weekend. To say the least it wasnt the easiest… Tomorrow we plan on running the course so we know what to expect on the actual race day. This will be the farthest distance I have ever run in my entire life at once. It makes me really appreciate my body for what it is capable of, just 2 years ago when I discovered my love for running I could barely run more than a mile and now im about to run 6 and then 13 three months from now.

   My biggest goal this year is to place in the top 3 for my age group… shoot who am I kidding i want 1st place!!! How awesome would that be!?! I know that most likely it wont be happening at this next race since I didn’t get enough long runs in but I plan on training harder for the next 3 I have on the schedule for us.

I think that it actually could be possible that i get 1st place for the women someday. My reasons for thinking that is because most of the time im running between 9-9:30 minute miles and i havent even trained very hard. I still have about 20lbs to lose which will also help me become faster. And last but not least I WANT 1ST! I have the determination to do it.

Here are a few of my latest workouts… Like I said the 5 miler wasn’t the easiest it poured down rain and I sware it was up hills both ways lol.

20130322_184343 20130410_173949 SC20130412-124923 20130322_193812

   Well we will see how tomorrows run goes but im crossing my fingers that 6 miles wont be so bad after all…

wish me luck!

Whats the farthest you have run?

Any big races coming up?

About sweatforsanity

Just a girl trying to enjoy life and get fit at the same time. I have a handsome husband whom i was married to in 2011. We live in a small apartment in Oregon and are both currently seeking out our careers. We love the out doors and just about any sport.
This entry was posted in Goals, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upcoming 10k

  1. Marie Oliveira says:

    I love so much that your goal is to finish 1st! You can totally do it!! I just signed up for the Big Sur half marathon in November even though I haven’t run more than 3-4 miles. So now I’m looking at doing a 5k in June, which is actually a trail run.

Leave a comment